A dose of Mae West


mae-west-wings

What’s likely to get me going on a gloomy Sunday morning? A couple of Mae West quotes of course.

Mae herself reached stardom at the age of 41 and became one of the highest paid actresses of her time, along with the lovely Marlene Dietrich, both of whom actually liked each other, which can be seen as peculiar as the Golden Hollywood years were filled with hatred and competitiveness.

During her heyday, the tactic Mae had used was pretty damn simple: to cast actors and especially actresses who looked, let’s just say, less fortunate than her. And it worked. When she was 85 she starred as a twenty-something in Sexette (1978). You can criticise all you like – but who else could have done this except for West?

As for the fashion – she was wearing Zuhair Muradesque or Ellie Saab-like gowns even before these designers were born. Provocative, expensive and very seductive.

maewest-embelished gown

Nevertheless, here are some quotes to put a smile on your face. Feel free to use these on a daily basis. I sure do.

A dame that knows the ropes isn’t likely to get tied up.

A hard man is good to find.

All discarded lovers should be given a second chance, but with somebody else.

Any time you got nothing to do – and lots of time to do it – come on up.

Between two evils, I always pick the one I never tried before.

Don’t keep a man guessing too long – he’s sure to find the answer somewhere else.

Every man I meet wants to protect me. I can’t figure out what from.

I believe in censorship. I made a fortune out of it.

I didn’t discover curves; I only uncovered them.

I’ll try anything once, twice if I like it, three times to make sure.

Love thy neighbor – and if he happens to be tall, debonair and devastating, it will be that much easier.

Is that a gun in your pocket, or are you just happy to see me?

All quotes by Mae West

mae-west-corset

12 thoughts on “A dose of Mae West

  1. I felt like I needed more customization options, blogger seems to have a bit more although it’s not as organized. I plan to get a domain name and hosting eventually, but it’ll be when my site grows more : )

  2. I didn’t know that Mae peaked at 40! What a great life 😀 I am now in admiration *immediately googles her* I want to spend my whole life in build up and then explode at 40 ;D

Leave a comment